Favourite Recipe, Food, Latest Highlights, Recipes
Comments 3

Poached Pears, the forgotten dessert

Have you ever thought ‘meh’ to poached pears?  I have recently discovered (yes, me) that this forgotten dessert is actually quite charming.

If you were to hand me a dessert menu in a restaurant, I would most likely skim the page with my predator-like eyes and eliminate the poached pear from my options, effective immediately. That’s if I managed to get passed the first chocolate option…

I was lucky enough to attend one of Jane Grovers cooking classes at her home, and the poached pear was on the menu!  I have to admit, I was a little disappointed at first (I didn’t pay for PEARS) but as soon as the le creuset lid was lifted and the cinnamon and vanilla infused steam filled the kitchen, I just couldn’t wait to sink my spoon into them.

I wasn’t disappointed. With a dollop of Crème fraîche, these pears were a major contender to any chocolate dish.

A couple of tips for cooking these beauties.  1) use real vanilla and cinnamon 2) don’t add too much water as you want them to cook from the steam, not be boiled alive, and 3) Enjoy with an apple or pear cider!

So where is the recipe? Well you will have to get Jane Grovers next cook book.  (her current book is called Naked Food) http://www.janegrover.net

3 Comments

  1. Marissa says

    I usually never get past the chocolate option either! I like the tip about having them with cider. How long did you cook them for and what type of pears did you use?

    Like

    • we used those brown pears… cut them in half and put them on a rolling simmer for an hour. You can add pear juice to the mix to make it sweeter!

      Like

Leave a comment